The Barbro Sandin Award

The Barbro Sandin Award

The Barbro Sandin Award

In 2008 the Barbro Sandin Award was created by Dr. JoAnn Elizabeth Leavey, in honour of Barbro Sandin, who found ways in which to work with vulnerable persons with psychotic experiences that were in some cases deemed untreatable by mainstream psychiatry. The award is financed by the Barbro Sandin Foundation. The award honours a woman leader in psychological treatment every two years at the ISPS International Congress.
The recipient of the 2015 award, Dr Danielle Knafo, received a grant of 25,000 Swedish krona (approximately €2,700 or US$3,500) and a glass plaque stating the recipient's name, award title, date, and the Barbro Sandin/ISPS partnership. The award was presented at the 19th International Congress of ISPS in New York, 18-22nd March 2015
The Barbro Sandin Award has not been offered since 2015.
Nominations for the Barbro Sandin award
Nominations should be made by emailing a 250 word statement together with the nominee's CV to Please see the nomination criteria below.

Criteria to be nominated for the Barbro Sandin Award are as follows (the woman recipient needs to have accomplished one or more of the following): 

  1. Furthered the lives of women in the field of mental health through excellence in one of the following areas: teaching, mentoring, clinical work and/or research

  2. Provide excellence in any of the clinical fields - trauma, recovery, rescue and disaster work

  3. Provide new clinical pathways insights into the lives of child and adolescents, youth, adults or older adults suffering from psychosis

  4. Furthered the lives of fellow women colleagues in the field of mental health

  5. Provide any further insights into any individual or family therapies that promotes a women centered approach

  6. Pursued sex and gender clinical/research work

  7. Furthered the understanding of women and mental health in different cultural locations around the world

  8. Further a sense of humanness, existentialism - helping those suffering from mental illness a way to create meaning in their lives and provide hope for the future

  9. Pursued their research and patient care in spite of resistance, rejection or traditional thinking


Past winners:

Winner of the 2015 Barbro Sandin Award: Danielle Knafo, Director of the Serious and Persistent Mental Illness Concentration, Dept. of Clinical Psychology, Long Island University, United States

Winner of the 2013 Barbro Sandin Award: Amra Dautovic, Managing Director of My Time CIC (Mental Health Institute) in Birmingham, UK

Winner of the 2011 Barbro Sandin Award: Ann-Louise S. Silver, MD

Winner of the 2009 Barbro Sandin Award: Arnhild Lauveng, Norway




facebook-join twitter-icon instagram






ISPS Book Series

Open Dialogue for Psyc...

This highly readable book provides a comprehensive examination of the use of Open Dialogue as a treatment for psychosis. It presents the basic prin...

ISPS Journal


The ISPS Journal Psychosis accepts personal and institutional subscriptions. All Individual Members of ISPS and members of regional ISPS groups receive quarterly issues of the journal as a membership benefit.